9/10 Santander

02/07/2019

Time: 8:23 am

Temperature: 22 degrees

10k Duration: 57:26:9

De vuelta a casa...

Warning: this is going to be a long one because I am back 'home' in my favourite place in Spain!

En route: Ribadesella and Covadongo

On the drive from Gijón to Santander we stopped at two unexpectedly fantastic locations. The first, Ribadesella, was a little like a larger version of Luarca but with the added bonus of a beautiful beach and special land formation due to its outlet from the River Sella. It forms part of the famous Picos de Europa but we got the feeling that it is not known to many foreign tourists. The town and buildings in the surrounding area were magnificent and so well kept, the two hours spent wandering around was not long enough, we could have been their for days and not tired of the unique setting and salty sea air. 

We then headed to the Covadonga Lakes up in the mountains, unfortunately a mist had set in so the views at the top were not worth the climb, but, half way up we discovered something even more exciting and totally unusual instead - the Covadonga Caves and Sanctuary. Set into the cliffside and above a tiny lake we found one of the most cardinal points in Asturias, a partially hidden, sacred alter adorned with flowers and candles, marking the destination of many religious pilgrimages in the past. There was also a cathedral set high up amongst the trees, the whole setting was truly one of a kind. 

We arrived in Santander in the evening (or what I call my second home), and it really did feel like I was returning home! It was the first place I visited in Spain, 8 years ago on a school trip, and then I was lucky enough to come over again as an au-pair for the Sánchez-Barquin's; Pablo, Eva, Juan, Paula and Sivlia. I have returned every summer since and regard them as my second family.

I will never be able to put into words how special they are and how thankful I am for everything they have done for me, helping me improve my Spanish from when I could hardly string a sentence together, to showing me the most stunning locations in Cantabria. I am also lucky enough to have got to know the whole family and look forward to seeing Tita and Lolo, Tata and the rest of the aunts, uncles and cousins when I come. 

This time round we all met up in Castro-Urdiales, a picture post card town on the waterfront, where the celebrations of Coso Blanco were taking place. This festival is hard to explain as we have nothing similar in England, but to sum it up in a few words: there was paper everywhere! The ginourmous floats from the procession are all made of different coloured paper and throughout the whole evening you open tiny tissue paper balls filled with shredded paper and throw them as if it were snowing, it was a lot of fun and there was a lot of laughter (as well as quite a bit of paper swallowed from the 'paper ball fights'!) The night ended with the most breathtaking firework display accompanied by music, it was one of those moments where the world seems to stand still and you get chills. I just stood for a few seconds thinking back on how amazing this whole trip has been and once again another action-packed week in Santander coming to an end. Not many people get to have a second family in another country and to have lived so many incredible experiences together. So here's to making the most of  many more memories that I know we are going to make!

The run

The 10 kilometers took us along my favourite running route in Santander, along el Sardinero beach front, past la Magdalena and into the centre of town. After so many years of telling my parents how extraordinary Santander is, I was so happy to finally get to show Dad what I have been banging on about all this time. No doubt whatsoever I will be back very soon, and I am so very grateful that I will always be able to see Santander through the eyes of someone who has lived here, not just a passer-by. 

© 2019 Alex Richardson Award
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started