8/10 Gijón

30/06/2019

Time: 8:02 am

Temperature: 20 degrees

10k Duration: 54:24:4

If it doesn't challenge you it won't change you.

On the journey...

On the way from Ribadeo to Gijón we had two more fantastic stops, Luarca, a small marine fishing village and El Faro de Cabo Peñas, a light house with spectacular views of the Asturias coastline. The village was tranquil and off the tourist path which was lovely and we were surprised when we were the only two people at the lighthouse view point... It was too good to be true though, as we picked the bench with the best vista and began our picnic, suddenly three coach loads of Spaniards came out of no where and stood right in front of us. We couldn't believe it! Some were even complaining that all they could see was sea! Well all we could see at that point were their backsides, we had to find the funny side and couldn't stop laughing, despite the views being a little distorted it was so worth the drive by. 

Gijón and the Run:

Gijón was another great town with two big beaches and a harbour, just perfect to run along. I decided this was going to be the morning that I was really going to give it my all and see what time I could do with the help of dad pacing me. There were two or three points when I really wanted to throw in the towel but dad was just in front of me and I kept chasing. And I did it- fastest time yet! That is what I love about running - those moments when you think you can't do it and you push yourself right to the edge and you make it, and you look back and are even more motivated to do what you just did but better. With some more work (and less ice creams) i'll keep shaving the minutes off!

© 2019 Alex Richardson Award
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started