2/10 Cádiz

10/06/2019

Time: 8.08am

Temperature: 17 degrees

10k time: 57:02

'El mundo es un pañuelo'  

'It's a small world'

I was so excited to come to Cádiz for a pretty special reason, I had my very own tour guide/running buddy/new-found-friend waiting for me who I had only met a few weeks ago... It was one of those coincidences in life when the saying 'it's a small world' couldn't be more fitting.  

I started chatting to Sofi at the finish line of the Edinburgh half marathon and when she told me she was Mexican I took the opportunity to speak in Spanish. It transpired that she is currently living in Cádiz and I couldn't believe it - that is where I was heading in under 2 weeks. Straight away she offered to show me around and introduce me to her friends. 

We exchanged numbers and kept in contact the days running up to my trip. Now, here we are, after a fantastic evening of sharing tapas and tales of our lives which have lead up to this crazy, coincidental evening. She said I have a home in Mexico always, it really is amazing what a smile and a small chat (and speaking a foreign language) can turn into.

The city

If you don't know Cádiz its an area that juts out from main land Spain which makes it a really unique place as half of it is lined with beautiful beaches that can rival the Caribbean and the entire outer edge of the old town has a promenade to walk and run with views of the sea. 

The top three highlights of the past few days have to be el Parque Genovés which is full of bright beautiful flowers and a waterfall, la Caleta Beach and running along the stone wall towards the San Sebastián castle.

The run

© 2019 Alex Richardson Award
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started